This article is dedicated to explaining how you get charged or refunded, after upgrading/downgrading your subscription.
We use Stripe’s prorate feature which is some sort of a smarter billing method than usual.
Upon changing to a new plan, Stripe will immediately issue a prorate (a charge adjustment) which will affect your next payment proportionally to the number of days you’ve used the old plan vs the new plan. Refer to the following article for more details.
So if, for example, you’re on the Pro Monthly plan and then you switch to the Unlimited Monthly plan and then back to the Pro Monthly plan after a few days, you will only get charged for the extra few days on the Unlimited plan, and nothing from what you have previously paid will get lost.
When would I get charged immediately?
Stripe would attempt to charge you immediately following one of these two scenarios:
- Upgrading from a plan that doesn’t require payment (due to a trial or free plan) to a plan that requires one.
- When the targeted plan has a different billing cycle than the one you’re on (eg. upgrading from the Pro Monthly plan to the Unlimited Yearly plan).